People Who Like To Read

I’m sitting at my internship, and sneakily surfing the net, reading blogs and pretending to be busy. I have work. Which is where the need to look busy comes in. but I simply do not want to do it. What I want to do is pull out that book (Game of Thrones) from my bag sitting 2 inches away, along with a packet of super spicy chips (also in that very bag) and stick my nose in there for an undetermined amount of time (possibly a long long time on account of wanting to read the next book and the next and the next and so on till I’m done, which will take some time of course).

So for the time being, what I’m doing is wasting my time in a weird private rebellion against everyone who decided quiet reading time, unlike lunch time, was not required after kindergarten. Hey if there is food for the tummy, my poor soul needs its food too. And that food would be the book lying in my bag….sending me taunting winks….tempting me to invite the wrath of the work gods and simply read. I feel like I’m wasting away from the longing. And yes I am aware that I now sound absolutely pathetic, but I feel like a weepy mess of a deprived person.

Writing this at work made me look sufficiently busy for ten whole minutes, however, it whetted my appetite for that BOOK. Two hours, two minutes and 11 seconds to go till I can grab my book and escape into the Seven Kingdoms. (Provided my dad picks me up on time of course.)

Sigh. The trials faced by People Who Like To Read.

One thought on “People Who Like To Read

  1. Pingback: How To Waste Time At Work While Looking Busy | Stilled Moments

Leave a Reply

