A Game

We stand there, facing each other. I lean against the wall as I look at you. Somehow we don’t need to search for conversation. We talk about Nothing and yet Everything. You smile at me teasingly and I widen my eyes as I stick out my lower lip in a pout, pretending to be hurt. You laugh at me and grab my hand, pulling me closer. I put my hand on your shoulder as you smile and tap my nose. It’s a game we play. I break out smiling and you tickle my sides. I wiggle away and laughingly, move back to the wall. It’s a tentative dance. A game. A touch closer, then back off. Smiling, laughing. Toeing the line, while just dipping a toe over it. I don’t know what we are doing. I don’t know how long we can do this. I don’t know whether this silent unacknowledged “game” will hurt us. I don’t know. But for now, I don’t care.

 

Leave a Reply

