Spellbound

I suck in a shallow breath and try to recapture my train of thought. I stay still, talking softly, continuing the conversation. I try not to move the littlest bit, not to think too quickly, not to breathe too deeply, not to do anything at all that might startle. I want to close my eyes and drink in your touch, smile at the flush creeping over my skin, but I stay ever so still. Lest, you stop.

Your fingers are curled around the base of my head as your thumb moves slowly over the edge of my jaw, stroking gently. Your thumb moves back and forth, softly brushing the skin. I prattle on; all my attention centered on that little point of contact on my body, giving no thought to what I am saying.

Your thumb moves to my chin, your fingers now cup my face. I draw in a breath, forcing myself to stay still. I feel flushed and tingly. I cannot think of another thing to say. Your thumb brushes the edge of my lower lip and I look at your face. I do not think I need to talk any more. You are looking at my hand on your face and I can look my fill at you. Your eyes are lowered, a slight frown drawing your brows together. You are completely focused on what you are doing. Warmth blooms inside me at this thought and I can feel heat travelling up my neck. Your thumb brushes my lip fully, this time actually stroking it. My breath hitches I am suddenly scared you will stop. That somehow I will break this spell. But, I relax into your touch when you do not seem to notice. Your thumb moves up, covering my lips, caressing them, soft, and then a little firm, then softer again. Your fingers move gently over my jaw…..

I am not moving. Not speaking. Hardly breathing. It is like when a butterfly lands on your hand and you freeze, so scared that you will startle it into flying away.

Your other hand is on my knee, rubbing softly. Almost petting, as though you are comforting me. I do not know at this point, which one of us is trying not to startle the other. Both, perhaps. So scared that anything too fast, too sudden, will cause the other to draw away.

I drink in the look on your face. Revel in your touch. I do not want the spell to break. Because anytime, would be too soon.

 

Leave a Reply

